Sitemap  |  Contact  |  Home  |  中文  |  Cas
  About us
  International Cooperation
  Graduate School
  Positions Available
  Living in IMR
  Location: Home>News>Events
Prof. Vincent G. Hairrs, from Northeastern University Visits IMR
AUTHOR: Lee Hsun Award Office       DATE: 11/04/2013 TEXT SIZE: A A A

The winner of 2013 LEE HSUN Lecture Series—Research Award, Prof. Vincent G. Harris, from Northeastern University was invited to visit IMR on 13th to 15th October, 2013.

During the visit, Prof. Harris gave a lecture of “Modern microwave ferrites: The quest for microwave circuit integration”. Prof. ZHANG Zhefeng, the Deputy Director of IMR presented the plaque of LEE HSUN Research Award to him. Prof. Harris exchanged his opinions on the research fields like non-rare-earth permanent materials and high frequency electromagnetic material, as well as discussed the cooperation plan with Magnetic Materials and Magnetics Division of IMR.

Prof. Harris is an internationally famous expert in the field of magnetic materials. He achieved series of innovation in the enhancement of photocurrent in ferroelectric films via the incorporation of narrow bandgap nanoparticles, the atomic scale design and control of cation distribution in hexagonal ferrites, the simulations of ferrite-dielectric-wire composite negative index materials, the selective resputtering induced perpendicular magnetic anisotropy in amorphous TbFe films, the local structure of the amorphous precursor to Ba-Hexaferrite thin films, the structural origins of magnetic anisotropy in amorphous Tb-Fe alloy films, etc. Prof. Harris has published 16 academic reviews and chapters and more than 300 papers in SCI publications like Adv. Mater.Phys. Rev. BAppl. Phys. Lett., which was cited over 5025. He has 20 patents.

Prof. Harris was honored American Physical Society Fellow for the contributions to magnetism in revealing the role of atomic structure in local magnetic phenomena, including the discovery of the structural origins of magnetic anisotropy in rare earth-based amorphous alloys and Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Fellow for the contributions to the science and engineering of microwave magnetic materials. He is also an Editor of the Journal of Alloys and Compounds, Science of Advanced Materials, and Journal of Materials.

Prof. ZHANG Zhefeng presents the plaque of LEE HSUN Research Award to Prof. Harris

Prof. Harris gives a lecture


Copyright © 2009 Institute of Metal Research Chinese Academy of Sciences
This website requires the Macromedia Flash MS Plugin
Internet Explorer 5.0+, best view with resolution 1024x768